theMYC

Tech. Photography. Film-making. Tutorials.

Free Fall from the Edge of Space!

Leave a comment

He did it! That crazy awesome Felix Baumgartner jumped off the edge of the space, from 127,000 feet of altitude all the way back down to Earth, breaking some world records and getting vital information for NASA in the process. Watch as he jumps out of the capsule. It’s a frightening, adrenaline-fueled, historic moment.

It’s official, Felix is now the first man on the planet to break the speed of sound with no mechanical propulsion—just him and Earth’s gravity. Talking at the post-jump press conference, he told everyone about the moment in which he exceeded Mach 1. It got really scary, as he thought he was going to lose consciousness during the sudden violent spin that happened after the first seconds of the descent:

One of the most exciting moments was standing out on top of the world, 30 seconds before stepping off… On the step I felt that the whole world is watching. I said I wish they would see what I see. It was amazing.

There was a time I really thought I was in trouble. I had to decide to fight all the way down and I finally got stable. [this is when he started to spin, apparently out of control]

That spin became so violent it was hard to know how to get out of it. I was able to get it under control and break the speed of sound.”

I could feel myself break the speed of sound. I could feel the air building up and then I hit it.

Watch the first head cam footage from the jump here, including the crazy spin.

Full Coverage via. Gizmodo

Space Jump Highlights

Leave a Reply

